Thurman E. Askew Award

Memorial Award


The Thurman E. Askew Enrolled Agent Memorial Award

The Askew Foundation, Inc., will present the Thurman E. Askew, Enrolled Agent, Memorial Award during our 2020 Annual Convention and CE Seminar in beautiful Wrightsville Beach, NC, May 20 – 22, 2020. The award honors the memory of Thurman E. Askew, one of the founding members of the North Carolina Society of Enrolled Agents who actively promoted the EA profession and fought vigorously to protect the rights of Enrolled Agents to practice in North Carolina.

The THURMAN E. ASKEW, ENROLLED AGENT, MEMORIAL AWARD provides recognition to those NCSEA member tax practitioners who have demonstrated a commitment to professional practice standards, to community service, or to the advancement of the enrolled agent designation. The goal is to encourage deserving members of NCSEA to strive for excellence in their profession, participate in service to the wider community, or continue to demonstrate their EA professionalism.

Please recognize a deserving NCSEA member by completing the nomination form. You may make a nomination at any time. Return the form to Beverly Henderson or to any board member of the Askew Foundation, Inc. You may also email it to The nomination MUST be in writing and MUST be received on or before April 30, 2020. The nominee must be an Enrolled Agent in good standing with NCSEA, but you do NOT have to be a member to make a nomination.

Past Thurman E. Askew, Enrolled Agent, Memorial Award Recipients:

2017 Recipient: George Caesar, EA
2015 Recipient: Richard M. Reedman, EA, USTCP, CFE
2012 Recipient: Alice Linville, EA, ARA, ATA, ATP
2011 Recipient: Lisa B. Miller, EA
2010 Fall Recipient: Don Hood, EA
2010 Spring Recipient: Wiley Jones, EA
2009 Fall Recipient: Sherrie King, EA
2009 Spring Recipient: Nancy Colvin, EA

You may fax your nomination to 828-464-8300; mail to NCSEA Administrator, c/o Candace Cansler, P O Box 937, Conover, NC 28613; or email to or to You may also submit your nomination form to any Askew Foundation, Inc., board member.